UNIVERSITY SYSTEM OF MARYLAND BOARD OF REGENTS COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION POLICY MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF JANUARY 25, 2012

EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Committee on Education Policy of the University System of Maryland Board of Regents met in closed executive session on Wednesday, January 25, 2012 in the Chancellor's Conference Room in the Wilson H. Elkins Building, University System of Maryland Office, 3300 Metzerott Road, Adelphi, Maryland, beginning at 11:55 a.m. Present were Dr. Florestano, Chair; Ms. Gonzales, Mr. Kinkopf, Chancellor Kirwan, Mr. Slater, Dr. Vance, and Mr. Wojciechowski. Also attending were Ms. Doyle, Dr. Goldstein, Ms. Marionni, and Dr. Wolfe.

Dr. Florestano called the meeting to order for the Committee to consider in executive session two items covered by §10-508(a) of the Open Meetings Act in order to protect the privacy or reputation of individuals on matters not related to public business.

The Committee first considered the recommendations of the USM Regents' Faculty Award Committee concerning proposed recipients of Regents' Faculty Awards for 2011-2012. Following discussion, Mr. Slater moved, Ms. Gonzales seconded, and the Committee unanimously recommended that the Board of Regents approve the recommendation of the Regent's Faculty Awards Committee and present the awards to the faculty members during its April 2012 meeting.

The Committee then considered the list of nominees for possible awarding of honorary degrees by USM institutions. Following discussion, Mr. Wojciechowski moved, Dr. Vance seconded, and the Committee unanimously recommended that the Board of Regents approve the institutional nominations submitted in Fall 2011 to be added to the list of individuals approved for the awarding of honorary degrees, taking into account any additional information resulting from discussions with campus leadership. The Committee will present its recommendations for action to the full Board in executive session on February 11, 2011.

The Committee was adjourned at 12:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Patricia S. Florestano Chairperson