

**Bowie State University** 14000 Jericho Park Road Bowie, MD 20715

Coppin State University 2500 W. North Avenue Baltimore, MD 21216

Frostburg State University 101 Braddock Road Frostburg, MD 21532

Salisbury University 1101 Camden Avenue Salisbury, MD 21801

**Towson University** 8000 York Road Towson, MD 21252

University of Baltimore 1420 N. Charles Street Baltimore, MD 21201

#### University of Maryland, Baltimore

620 W. Lexington Street Baltimore, MD 21202

#### University of Maryland Baltimore County 1000 Hilltop Circle Baltimore, MD 21250

#### University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science

P.O. Box 775 Cambridge, MD 21613

University of Maryland, College Park College Park, MD 20742

University of Maryland Eastern Shore Princess Anne, MD 21853

University of Maryland University College 3501 University Blvd. East Adelphi, MD 20783

University System of Maryland Office 3300 Metzerott Road Adelphi, MD 20783-1690

# **Board of Regents Report September 19, 2014**

#### **Board of Regents Staff Awards**

The council is honored by the Board of Regents awarding our seven outstanding recipients of the USM Board of Regents Staff Awards this morning. These seven leaders represent all that is great about what our staff employees do for our system. The council congratulates today's recipients:

# Exceptional Contribution to the institution and/or unit

- David Hoffman UMBC (Exempt)
- Julie Rosenthal UMBC (Nonexempt)

### Outstanding Service to students in an academic or residential environment

John Tilghman – UMES (Exempt)

# Extraordinary public service to the university or to the greater community

- Phillip Thomas UMES (Exempt)
- Jayne French Towson University (Nonexempt)

# **Effectiveness and Efficiency**

- Claude "Dick" Rader Coppin State University (Exempt)
- Allison Foltz Salisbury University (Exempt)

# Start of the 2014-2015 Term

The Council of University System Staff held its first meeting of the term on August 12 at Salisbury University. The council wishes to thank President Janet Dudley-Eshbach for hosting and Dr. Diane Allen, Provost and Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs for her welcoming remarks. I am pleased to announce the new CUSS Executive Board for 2014-2015:

- Chair: Bill Crockett University of Maryland, Baltimore
- Vice Chair: Dana Wimbish University of Maryland, College Park
- Co-Secretary: Lisa Gray Salisbury University
- Co-Secretary: Shelia Chase Coppin State University
- Past Chair: Willie Brown University of Maryland, College Park
- At-Large: Trenita Johnson Bowie State University and
- At-Large: Keisha Campbell University of Maryland Baltimore County

Substantial time was dedicated to brainstorming and discussing goals for 2014-2015. This year, the **Executive Committee** will continue our comprehensive review of council practices and procedures to ensure effectiveness, efficiency, and engagement. Last term the following objectives were achieved:

- Improved succession planning of officers and council members.
- Restructured roles within the executive committee to create better utilization of all members.
- Reviewed institutional compositions in regards to membership (seats) on the Council.

CUSS Chair Report - Board of Regents (09.19.14), pg. 1

- Continued collaboration between all USM shared governance councils.
- Continued to assess and find ways to improve how we can be more strategic and fiscally responsible as a body.

# **Council Meeting Schedule 2014-2015**

•	Aug. 12, 2014	Salisbury University
•	Sep. 23, 2014	University of Baltimore
•	Oct. 28, 2014	Frostburg State University
•	Nov. 11, 2014	University of Maryland, College Park
•	Dec. 9, 2014	USM Office
•	Jan. 20, 2015	University of Maryland University College
•	Feb. 24, 2015	Annapolis – State House
•	Mar. 24, 2015	Bowie State University
•	Apr. 28, 2015	Towson University
•	May 19, 2015	University of Maryland Baltimore County
•	Jun. 23, 2015	University of Maryland Eastern Shore
	Jul. 28, 2015	University of Maryland Center of Environmental Sciences

#### **Council Membership**

As chair, I am excited to be working with an outstanding group of volunteer leaders. Our current membership roster is attached (attachment A). We welcome aboard sixteen (16) new members this term (36% of council membership). The ongoing success of the council is realized by the work and dedication each member brings to the council, shared governance, and the USM.

# **Other Updates**

The following has occurred since our last report:

- The Council has reviewed and fully supports the proposed amendments to USM/BOR VII-4.20 -POLICY ON TUITION REMISSION FOR SPOUSES AND DEPENDENT CHILDREN OF USM EMPLOYEES AND RETIREES. We wish to convey our appreciation for the work done and support on this initiative by CUSF, USM Presidents, and USM Leadership.
- On Monday, July 28, 2014 the CUSS Executive Committee and Standing Committee Chairs met via conference call with consultant John Thornburgh of Witt/Kieffer Executive Search Firm to provide the staff perspective on the current search for our Chancellor. This engaging exchange allowed the council to highlight qualities and characteristics we believe would be beneficial in our next Chancellor including continued support of shared governance, making the USM an outstanding place to work and thrive, maintaining our excellence and prominence in higher education, and leading us into the future.
- The council chair participated in the USM Sexual Misconduct Policy Workgroup on July 30.

- The joint session for CUSS, CUSF, and USMSC will be held on November 11 at UMCP. I want to acknowledge the work and effort of my colleagues from CUSF and USMSC for continuing to make this collaborative meeting happen.
- The Council has invited Associate Vice Chancellor JoAnn Goedert to brief and inform the council of the proposed changes to the 2015 state health care plans at our meeting on September 23 at the University of Baltimore.

Respectfully submitted,

Bill P. Crockett, MS, RCRSP

Chair

# Council of University System Staff Roster 2014-2015

**Bowie State University** 

**Primary** Alternate

Trish E. Johnson Linda Parker-Ford

Trenita Johnson

**Coppin State University** 

**Primary** Alternate Sheila Chase Keri S. Hickey

Sherrye Larkins Yvonne V. Cook

**Frostburg State University** 

**Primary** Alternate

**Rubin Stevenson** Jay Hegeman

Jesse Ketterman Stacy Wassell

**Salisbury University** 

**Primary** Alternate

Lisa Grav **Paul Gasior** 

**Towson University** 

**Primary** Alternate

Mary Hickey Deniz Erman

**Gay Pinder** 

**University of Baltimore** 

**Primary** Alternate

Fredrick Kowalski

Sasha Hudson

**University System of Maryland Office** 

**Primary** Alternate

John Wolfe

Chancellor's Liaison

University of Maryland, Baltimore

Primary Alternate

Bill Crockett Colette Beaulieu **Roy Ross** Amanda Azuma

**Kevin Watson** Janet Nance-Richardson

**University of Maryland Baltimore County** 

Primary Alternate Ben Goldberg Kevin Joseph

Keisha Campbell Michelle Massey

Kathlyn Miller

**UMCES** 

Alternate Primary

Barbara Higgins Curtis F. Henry

**University of Maryland, College Park** 

Primary Alternate

Dana Wimbish Debbie Grover

Sarah Goff-Tlemsani Dylan Baker

Sister Maureen Schrimpe **David Klossner** 

Willie Brown (ex-officio)

**University of Maryland Eastern Shore** 

**Primary** Alternate

Chenita Reddick

Rená Finney

**University of Maryland University College** 

**Primary** Alternate

Christine Perchell

Larry Hogan

#### **Executive Committee**

Chair Bill Crockett (UMB)

Vice Chair Dana Wimbish (UMCP)

Co-Secretary Lisa Gray (SU)

Shelia Chase (CSU) Co-Secretary Member-at-Large Trenita Johnson (BSU)

Member-at-Large Keisha Campbell (UMBC)

Past Chair Willie Brown (UMCP)

Rosario I. van Daalen

# **Committee Chairs**

Benefits & Compensation Mary Hickey (TU)

Communications Chenita Reddick (UMES) **BOR Staff Awards** Sherrye Larkins (CSU)

Legislation & Policy Ben Goldberg (UMBC)