

Report from the Council of University System Faculty Board of Regents June, 2015

On April 13, 2015 CUSF met at UMBC and was welcomed to campus by Philip Rous, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs.

Elections were held and the officers for academic year 2015/2016 are as follows: Virletta Bryant, Chair (Coppin State University); Robert Kauffman, Vice Chair, (Frostburg State University); Patricia Alt, Secretary (Towson University); Bill Montgomery, Member At-Large (College Park); Joyce Henderson, Member At-Large (University of Maryland University Colleges).

On March 27, 2015 the Shared Governance Review Committee completed its report on the state of shared governance at UMUC which was accepted unanimously by CUSF as **Motion 1506:** Whereas: Stephanie Gibson, David Parker, and Martha Siegel have conducted a careful and thorough effort as a workgroup in response to CUSF motion 1402 to "review the state of shared governance at UMUC" and have concluded that "the state of shared governance at UMUC does not conform to USM policy". Therefore: Be it resolved that the Council of University System Faculty accepts the report of the workgroup and thanks its members for a job well done.

On April 17, 2015 the Joint Senate Chairs meeting was held at USM. Chairs reported on the state of shared governance at each institution and completed a shared governance survey.

CUSF completed an internal review of the BOR Faculty Awards policy to clarify the requirements and streamline the application process. In addition to the policy revisions two motions were passed at the April meeting. **Motion 1504:** CUSF requests that the BOR create an award category dedicated to part-time/adjunct faculty. **Motion 1505:** CUSF recommends that USM institutions continue the award by permanently adding \$1000 to the awardee's base salary.

On May 12, 2015, the Chair of CUSF presented revisions to the Board of Regents Faculty Award to the Committee on Education Policy and Student Life. CUSF's proposed changes were accepted, and the Committee charged CUSF to further investigate reasons that are contributing to the decline in nominations for awards.

CUSF's general meeting was held on May 13, 2015 at UMES where we were warmly welcomed to the pictorial campus by President Juliette Bell. In her remarks she shared the University's vision, "From Excellence toward Eminence" and some of the unique programs and initiatives that are their focus.

Dr. Christopher Brittan-Powell a member of CUSF's E&E 2.0 workgroup reported to CUSF about the Student Success and Analytics Workshop that occurred on April 30, 2015 at UMUC. He stated that over 60 attendees were present and faculty were well represented by CUSF's E&E

2.0 workgroup [Drs. Christopher Brittan-Powell (CSU), Nagaraj Neerchal (UMBC) and Joan Langdon (BSU)] along with the Chair of CUSF. He reported on the key focus areas of the Workshop which included student success, analytics and PAR. In response to questions and comments it was noted that course redesign and faculty workload would be included in the larger E&E 2.0 initiative. Identifying useful metrics that capture the range of faculty responsibilities was going to be critical in planning for efficiency.

CUSF unanimously passed **Motion 1509** which recognized Dr. Maggie Cohen's ongoing commitment to shared governance. CUSF will not meet on June 12, 2015, but will reconvene in September, 2015.

Dr. Virletta Bryant, Chair Council of University System Faculty Coppin State University vbryant@coppin.edu