

## RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY SYSTEM OF MARYLAND CONCERNING THE EXEMPLARY SERVICE OF

## Jonathan C. Gibralter

## **Frostburg State University**

**WHEREAS**, Dr. Jonathan C. Gibralter served as President of Frostburg State University from 2006 to 2015, a tenure marked by increased enrollment, improved retention and graduation rates, new academic programs at the undergraduate and graduate levels, new and improved facilities across campus, and significantly increased community collaboration efforts; and

WHEREAS, the addition of new academic programs and the expansion of existing programs targeted the greatest workforce needs of both the Western Maryland region and the state, especially in the critical areas of education, renewable energy, and STEM; and

**WHEREAS**, Dr. Gibralter engendered a new culture of philanthropy, helping the university execute the most successful comprehensive campaign in its history in support of new scholarships and other activities; and

**WHEREAS**, Dr. Gibralter established himself as a national leader on critical issues, most notably environmental sustainability and efforts to prevent dangerous college-age drinking, the latter earning him the Senator Harold Hughes Memorial Award from the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism; and

**WHEREAS**, Dr. Gibralter has effectively carried out the duties and responsibilities conferred upon him by the Board of Regents in such a manner that his contributions will make a difference for years to come,

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT** the Board of Regents of the University System of Maryland gratefully acknowledges Dr. Jonathan C. Gibralter's outstanding contributions to Frostburg State University, the University System of Maryland, and to the entire State of Maryland; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT** the Board of Regents extends its best wishes for success in all his future endeavors, and its sincere gratitude for his dedicated service.

Jim Shea
Chairman, Board of Regents

William E. Kirwan
Chancellor, University System
of Maryland

June 19, 2015