

## **NEWS RELEASE**

**FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE** June 19, 2006

Contact: Anne Moultrie 301.445.2722; amoultrie@usmd.edu

## Stephen J. Simpson Appointed Interim President of Frostburg State University



**ADELPHI, Md.** (June 19, 2006)—William E. Kirwan, chancellor of the University System of Maryland, today announced his appointment of Stephen J. Simpson, provost and vice president for academic affairs at Frostburg State University (FSU), as FSU's interim president. The appointment is effective July 1, 2006 and will end when the new president joins the university in August.

Catherine R. Gira, president of FSU since September 1991, is retiring effective June 30. The USM Board of Regents in March announced the appointment of Jonathan C. Gibralter as FSU's next president. Currently president of Farmingdale State University of New York, Gibralter will join the university on or about August 1.

"Steve Simpson is a highly respected academic leader with a long career of service to FSU," said Chancellor Kirwan. "He is the ideal person to serve as the interim president during this period."

Simpson has served as FSU's provost and vice president for academic affairs since February 2002. During his nearly 30 years at the university, he has held several positions, including chair of the Department of Political Science and acting dean of the former School of Natural and Social Sciences.

Simpson holds a Ph.D. and M.A. in politics from Princeton University and a B.A. in political science and history from Dickinson College.

Situated in the mountains of Allegany County, Frostburg State University is one of the 13 institutions of the University System of Maryland. It is a comprehensive, residential regional university and serves as an educational and cultural center for Western Maryland. With an annual operating budget of \$80.6 million, the university currently enrolls 4,300 undergraduate and 900 graduate students. Strong programs in the

liberal arts and sciences, business, education, and environmental studies draw students from around the world.

## -USM-

Governed by a 17-member Board of Regents, the University System of Maryland includes 13 institutions: Bowie State University; Coppin State University; Frostburg State University; Salisbury University; Towson University; University of Baltimore; University of Maryland, Baltimore; University of Maryland, Baltimore County; University of Maryland Biotechnology Institute; University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science; University of Maryland, College Park; University of Maryland Eastern Shore; and University of Maryland University College. USM institutions also offer programs at the system's two regional higher education centers: Universities at Shady Grove and the University System of Maryland at Hagerstown.