

OFFICE OF THE CHANCELLOR

MEMORANDUM

To: USM Presidents

FROM: Robert L. Caret Rhut. Caret

Chancellor

DATE: July 26, 2016

Re: 2017 Regents' Faculty Award Nominations

Each spring, the Regents recognize outstanding faculty in a special awards presentation. There are five categories of activity for award nominations:

• Teaching (presented to individual faculty members)

- Scholarship, Research, or Creative Activity (*presented to individual faculty members*)
- Public Service (presented to individual faculty members)
- Mentoring (presented to individual faculty members)
- Innovation (presented to individual faculty members)

A nominated faculty member's accomplishments must clearly exceed ordinary obligations. Nominees must meet all of the following criteria:

- A USM institution headquartered in the U.S. must currently employ the nominated faculty member.
- The nominated faculty member must have been a USM faculty member for at least five years.
- A USM institution must have employed the faculty member during the course of the contributions for which the faculty member is being nominated.
- The period of performance is the three-year period ending June 30 of the year in which a USM institution nominates a faculty member.
- A faculty member who has won a Regents' Faculty Award within the past three years is not eligible for the same award.

Each institution shall designate an Institutional Faculty Nominating Committee (IFNC) that solicits nominees for the 2017 Regents' Faculty Awards. Each institution may nominate up to one candidate per 200 eligible faculty members for each award category. The IFNC shall forward all nominations to the President, who will make the final decision about the institutional nominations sent forward. The President of each institution shall submit faculty nominees to the USM Office of Academic Affairs.

1807 University of

University of Maryland, Baltimore

1856 University of Maryland, College Park

1865 Bowie State University

1866 Towson University

1886 University of Maryland Eastern Shore

1898 Frostburg State University

1900 Coppin State University

1925 Salisbury University

1925 University of Baltimore

1925
University of
Maryland
Center for
Environmental
Science

1947 University of Maryland University College

1966 University of Maryland, Baltimore County This year, the nominations are due in the Office of Academic Affairs on Tuesday, November 1, 2016. The forms and requirements for nominations are on the Academic Affairs website http://www.usmd.edu/usm/academicaffairs/regfac.txt.

We look forward to receiving your nominations of the outstanding faculty whose efforts have fueled exceptional teaching, research, service, and innovation.

cc: Provosts, CUSF Chair, John T. Wolfe, USM Academic Affairs