

Reframing Academic Integrity:

Creating a Shared Institutional Approach

March 26, 2019 | Maritime Conference Center



Convening Co-Sponsors





Planning Committee

MJ Bishop, Associate Vice Chancellor and Director, William E. Kirwan Center for Academic Innovation, University System of Maryland

Elizabeth Brunn, CUSF Secretary and Ed Policy Chair, Collegiate Faculty and Program Chair, Management Studies and Federal Contracting and Acquisition, University of Maryland University College

Robert Kauffman, Professor, Parks and Recreation Management, Frostburg State University

Zakiya Lee, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs, University System of Maryland

Nancy O'Neill, Associate Director, William E. Kirwan Center for Academic Innovation, University System of Maryland

Patricia Westerman, Chair, Council of University System Faculty (CUSF), and Professor, Department of Psychology, Bowie State University

The Planning Committee also wishes to thank edBridge Partners, LLC, for their help with this event.

Plenary Speaker



Douglas Harrison, Associate Dean, Graduate School, University of Maryland University College

Douglas Harrison is Associate Dean of the Graduate School at UMUC. His administrative and leadership experience has focused on faculty affairs, faculty development, and university governance. Prior to joining UMUC, Dr. Harrison held administrative and faculty appointments at Trinity Washington University and James Madison University. He also consults with colleges and universities on the use of academic portfolios in faculty performance assessment and evaluation and currently leads UMUC's Initiative on

Academic Integrity. His scholarship has been recognized with the National Education Association's Award for Excellence in the Academy and the John W. Kluge Fellowship at the Library of Congress. Dr. Harrison received his bachelor's degree from the Pierre Laclede Honors College at the University of Missouri-St. Louis, and his master's and doctoral degrees from Washington University in St. Louis.

Reframing Academic Integrity Program

8:00 a.m 9:00 a.m.	Registration and Light Breakfast
9:00 a.m 9:15 a.m.	Welcome and Overview of the Day A300 Joann Boughman, Sr. Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs, USM Patricia Westerman, Chair, CUSF and Professor, Dept. of Psychology, BSU
9:15 a.m 10:00 a.m.	Reframing/Disrupting the Conversation around Academic Integrity A300 Douglas Harrison, Associate Dean of the Graduate School, UMUC
10:00 a.m 10:25 a.m.	Institutional Team Time A300
10:25 a.m 10:40 a.m.	Break and Transition to Concurrent Session Block 1
10:40 a.m 11:30 a.m.	Concurrent Session Block 1 Rooms as Assigned Below
BSU CSU TU UMBC	Policy, Practice, and Procedures A300 James Bond, Assistant Director, Office of Student Conduct, UMCP Elizabeth Brunn, CUSF Secretary and Ed Policy Chair, Collegiate Faculty and Program Chair, Management Studies and Federal Contracting and Acquisition, UMUC
FSU UMUC UMB UMCP	Pedagogy and Assessment A302 Alison Goodrich, Collegiate Faculty and Program Chair, Criminal Justice and Legal Studies, UMUC Annie Rappeport, Graduate Student Government President, UMCP Patricia Westerman, Chair, CUSF and Professor, Dept. of Psychology, BSU
SU UB UMCES UMES	Technologies A303 Douglas Harrison, Associate Dean, Graduate School, UMUC Robert Kauffman, Professor, Parks and Recreation Management, FSU
11:30 a.m 11:40 a.m.	Transition to Concurrent Session Block 2
11:40 a.m 12:30 p.m.	Concurrent Session Block 2 Rooms as Assigned Below
FSU SU UMCES UMB	Policy, Practice, and Procedures A300 James Bond, Assistant Director, Office of Student Conduct, UMCP Elizabeth Brunn, CUSF Secretary and Ed Policy Chair, Collegiate Faculty and Program Chair, Management Studies and Federal Contracting and Acquisition, UMUC
BSU TU UB UMES	Pedagogy and Assessment A302 Alison Goodrich, Collegiate Faculty and Program Chair, Criminal Justice and Legal Studies, UMUC Annie Rappeport, Graduate Student Government President, UMUC Patricia Westerman, Chair, CUSF and Professor, Dept. of Psychology, BSU
CSU UMUC UMBC UMCP	Technologies A303 Douglas Harrison, Associate Dean, Graduate School, UMUC Robert Kauffman, Professor, Parks and Recreation Management, FSU

12:30 p.m 1:45 p.m.	Lunch and Roundtable Discussions Dining Hall, Salon 1 and Salon 2
1:45 p.m 1:55 p.m.	Transition to Concurrent Session Block 3
1:55 p.m 2:45 p.m.	Concurrent Session Block 3 Rooms as Assigned Below
UB	Policy, Practice, and Procedures A300
UMES	James Bond, Assistant Director, Office of Student Conduct, UMCP
UMUC UMCP	Elizabeth Brunn, CUSF Secretary and Ed Policy Chair, Collegiate Faculty and Program Chair, Management Studies and Federal Contracting and Acquisition, UMUC
	Pedagogy and Assessment A302
CSU SU	Alison Goodrich, Collegiate Faculty and Program Chair, Criminal Justice and Legal
UMCES	Studies, UMUC
UMBC	Annie Rappeport, Graduate Student Government President, UMCP
	Patricia Westerman, Chair, CUSF and Professor, Dept. of Psychology, BSU
BSU FSU	Technologies A303
TU	Douglas Harrison, Associate Dean, Graduate School, UMUC
UMB	Robert Kauffman, Professor, Parks and Recreation Management, FSU
2:45 p.m 3:00 p.m.	Break and Transition
3:00 p.m 3:40 p.m.	Institutional Team Time A300
3:40 p.m 4:00 p.m.	Action Plan Debrief and Closing A300

Joann Boughman, Sr. Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs, USM