

## MEMORANDUM

TO: USM Presidents

**FROM:** Jay A. Perman, Chancellor

Vay A Verman

DATE: Wednesday, September 9, 2020

SUBJECT: 2021 Board of Regents Faculty Award Nominations

Each spring, the regents recognize outstanding faculty in a special awards presentation. There are five categories of activity for award nominations:

- Teaching
- Scholarship, Research, or Creative Activity
- Public Service
- Mentoring
- Innovation

A nominated faculty member's accomplishments must clearly exceed ordinary obligations. Nominees must meet all of the following criteria:

- A USM institution must currently employ the nominated faculty member.
- The nominated faculty member must have been a USM faculty member for at least five years (as of the time of the nomination).
- A USM institution must have employed the faculty member during the course of the contributions for which the faculty member is being nominated.
- The period of performance is the three-year period ending June 30 of the year in which a USM institution nominates a faculty member.
- A faculty member who has won a Regents' Faculty Award within the past three (3) years is not eligible for the same award.

Each institution shall designate an Institutional Faculty Nominating Committee (IFNC) that solicits nominees for the 2021 Board of Regents Faculty Awards. Each institution may nominate up to one candidate per 200 eligible faculty members for each award category. The IFNC shall forward all nominations to you, and you should make the final decision(s) about the institutional nominations being sent forward. Please submit all nomination packets to the USM Office of Academic and Student Affairs as noted in the materials that can be found at the link below.

Nominations are due on Friday, November 13, 2020. All details and requirements can be accessed at <u>http://www.usmd.edu/usm/academicaffairs/regfac.txt</u>.

We look forward to receiving your nominations of the outstanding faculty whose efforts have fueled exceptional teaching, research, service, and innovation.

CC: Provosts Council of University System Faculty Chair Institutional Faculty Senate Chairs

**INSTITUTIONS** // BOWIE STATE UNIVERSITY • COPPIN STATE UNIVERSITY • FROSTBURG STATE UNIVERSITY • SALISBURY UNIVERSITY TOWSON UNIVERSITY • UNIVERSITY OF BALTIMORE • UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, BALTIMORE • UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, BALTIMORE COUNTY UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND CENTER FOR ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE • UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND, COLLEGE PARK • UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND EASTERN SHORE • UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND GLOBAL CAMPUS **REGIONAL CENTERS** // UNIVERSITIES AT SHADY GROVE • UNIVERSITY SYSTEM OF MARYLAND AT HAGERSTOWN • UNIVERSITY SYSTEM OF MARYLAND AT SOUTHERN MARYLAND