

Regents Report September 19, 2024

The Council on University System Faculty (CUSF) will have its first General Body Meeting on September 17, 2024. Currently, CUSF committee chairs are in place. At our September meeting, committees will hold their first meeting, membership will be determined, and agendas will be considered.

For each committee, specific initiatives are not yet determined. Therefore, below is a general overview of the current information. Likewise, in addition to past work, I have asked that committees refer to the USM strategic plan when considering initiatives and goals.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee members are:

- Heather Rogers Haverback, Chair- Towson University
- Tom Abrams, Vice Chair- University of Maryland, Baltimore
- Loretta N. Baryeh, Secretary Coppin State University
- Lorenda Naylor, At Large Member- University of Baltimore
- Nagaraj Neerchal, At Large Member- University of Maryland, Baltimore County

The Executive Committee met on September 4, 2024. During this meeting, we set the agenda for the upcoming CUSF meeting and new member orientation. We also discussed various topics for the upcoming year.

Education Policy Committee

Chairperson- Dr. Mary Crowley, University of Maryland Global Campus

Past Work Examples- Academic Integrity (AI) Subcommittee Survey Report and town hall, issues of open access, transfer credits and policy

Faculty Affairs Committee

Chairperson- Dr. Doris Santamaria-Makang, Frostburg State University

Past Work Examples- Technology, structural equity, COVID 19 subcommittees, mental and physical health town hall

Legislative Affairs Committee

Chairperson- Dr. Holly Brewer, University of Maryland, College Park

Past Work Examples- Resolution regarding the restrictions on graduate students and collective bargaining, many other legislative considerations

Rules and Membership Committee

Chairperson- Dr. Nagaraj Neerchal, University of Maryland, Baltimore County and Dr. Jay Zimmerman, Towson University

Past Work Examples- Consideration of bylaws to allow better methods of voting and meeting modality

Research Committee

Chairperson- Drs. Tom Abrams and Miroslaw Janowski, University of Maryland, Baltimore Past Work Examples- Research policies and open access

I look forward to updating you as we develop CUSF's priorities for the year.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Heather Rogers Haverback

CUSF Chair