Tuition Task Force to Host Public Meeting at Hagerstown Community College February 11

Tuition Task Force to Host Public Meeting at Hagerstown Community College February 11

February 6, 2003

The University System of Maryland (USM) Tuition Task Force, a special committee appointed last fall by USM Chancellor William E. Kirwan to assist the USM Board of Regents reconsider the USM's policy on tuition, will host a public meeting on Tuesday, February 11 at 6:30 p.m. in Kebler Theatre at Hagerstown Community College, 11400 Robinwood Drive in Hagerstown. The meeting will last approximately three hours.

The committee, chaired by University of Maryland University College President Jerry Heeger, includes 15 members representing public higher education, parents, students, the Board of Regents, and the private sector (see full membership below). Chancellor Kirwan asked the committee to focus its attention on undergraduate tuition and fees; examine tuition and fees together as they relate to the cost of education; conduct a comprehensive review of tuition and fee policies in other states and in comparable systems; give strong consideration to the relationship between tuition and fees and access; and take into account the larger political environment and engage all constituencies in its deliberations.

The committee is expected to develop a report that can help inform all sectors of the role of tuition and fees in building and sustaining academic quality, as well as the critical role that tuition and fees play in determining access and affordability. The report is expected to be presented to Chancellor Kirwan in April; he will review and forward it to the Board of Regents for its review shortly thereafter.

A series of public meetings (see schedule below) will be hosted by the Tuition Task Force at various sites across Maryland to gauge public opinion, consider ideas and approaches, and establish a dialog concerning the relevant issues.

The full agenda and background information will be available at the meeting. Sign language interpreters and/or other appropriate accommodations for eligible individuals with disabilities will be provided upon request. Please call 301/445-2756 (voice) or 301/314-7683 (TTY/ITT) to make special arrangements.


USM Tuition Task Force

Jerry Heeger, president, University of Maryland University College (UMUC), chair

David Nevins, USM Board of Regents

Pat Florestano, USM Board of Regents

Mark Behm, vice president of administration and finance, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Bill Leith, director of financial aid, University of Maryland, College Park (UMCP)

Thelma Thompson, president, University of Maryland Eastern Shore

Obsetee Korme, Towson University student,  representative of the USM Student Council

Don and Terry Wilson, UMCP parent association

Steve Simpson, provost, Frostburg State University

Andrew Canter, student representative, USM Board of Regents 

Javier Miyares, vice president of planning and accountability, UMUC

Renardo Hall, dean of student services, Bowie State University

Bill Couper, president, Greater Washington Region, Bank of America

Tim Maloney, attorney, Joseph Greenwald and Laake, former state legislator 


Tuition Task Force: Schedule of Public Meetings

University of Maryland, Baltimore County ;

Lecture Hall #3, 1000 Hilltop Circle, Baltimore, MD

Wednesday, January 22, 2003, 6:30 p.m. until 9 p.m. (for directions)

Hagerstown Community College

Kebler Theatre, 11400 Robinwood Dr., Hagerstown, MD

Tuesday, February 11, 2003, 6:30pm until 9:00pm (for directions)

University of Maryland Eastern Shore

Ella Fitzgerald Performing Arts Center

Backbone Road, Princess Anne, MD

Saturday, February 22, 2003, 1:00pm until 3:30pm (for directions)

University of Maryland, College Park

Nyumburu Cultural Center, Multi-Purpose Room (Lower Level), College Park, MD

Next to Stamp Student Union

Thursday, February 27, 2003, 6:30pm until 9:00pm (for directions)


Chris Hart
Phone: 301/445-2739