USM Financial Aid Task Force to Hold Third Meeting

ADELPHI, MD (August 13, 2004) The University System of Maryland (USM) Financial Aid Task Force will hold its third meeting Wednesday, August 18, in the Assembly Room of the Goldstein Treasury Building, 80 Calvert Street, Annapolis. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 2 pm.

USM Chancellor William E. Kirwan appointed the task force in June to study undergraduate, graduate, and professional school financial aid issues and make recommendations to ensure that USM institutions are affordable and accessible to qualified students.

Specifically, the chancellor has charged the group to:

  • survey best financial aid practices at comparable systems and institutions;
  • review current financial aid policies and practices at USM institutions;
  • consider ways to improve the efficiency of financial aid operations;
  • develop creative strategies for enhancing financial aid resources;
  • recommend policies that will ensure the ability of USM institutions to provide access and affordability for all qualified students.

Chaired by Nancy Kopp, Treasurer of the State of Maryland, the task force members are:

  • David Buchanan, Provost, Salisbury University
  • Dominic Cirincione, a student at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, representing the USM Student Council
  • Vince Conti, Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, University of Maryland University College
  • Janice Doyle, Assistant Secretary for Finance Policy, Maryland Higher Education Commission
  • Patricia Florestano, Member, USM Board of Regents
  • Senator P. J. Hogan, Maryland General Assembly
  • Jeremy Horine, Student Regent, USM Board of Regents
  • Angela Hovatter, Director of Financial Aid, Frostburg State University
  • Richard Hug, Member, USM Board of Regents
  • Earl Jenkins, Vice President for Student Affairs, Coppin State University
  • Donald Kiah, Assistant Vice President for Enrollment Management, Bowie State University
  • Barbara Klein, Associate Vice President for Government and Community Affairs, University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Barbara Miller, Director of Financial Aid, University of Baltimore
  • C. D. Mote, President, University of Maryland, College Park
  • Vince Pecora, Director of Financial Aid, Towson University
  • Delegate James E. Proctor, Jr., Maryland General Assembly
  • Thelma Thompson, President, University of Maryland, Eastern Shore

The USM Financial Aid Task Force is expected to submit its preliminary report to Chancellor Kirwan this fall. Following review by the system's institutional presidents and other constituent groups, the report and recommendations will be submitted to the Education Policy and Finance committees of the USM Board of Regents for review. Following the committees' action, the report will be submitted to the full board.

Contact: Anne Moultrie

Phone: 301/445-2722