USM Chancellor William E. Kirwan Appoints

Search Committee for President of Frostburg State University

Thomas Bowling, FSU Associate Vice President, Chairs Committee

Adelphi, MD (October 13, 2005) - William E. Kirwan, chancellor of the University System of Maryland (USM), announced today his appointment of the search committee for the president of Frostburg State University (FSU). FSU is one of the university system's 13 institutions.

The chair of the search committee is Thomas Bowling, Associate Vice President for Student and Educational Services at FSU.

Also serving on the committee are the following.

  • Lisa Bennett, President, FSU Student Government Association
  • Andrea DePalatis, Chair, Historic Frostburg Committee
  • David Gillespie, Director, Library-Academic Affairs, FSU
  • William B. Grant, Chairman of the Board and CEO, First United Bank and Trust
  • Kevin Greig, Mail and Printing Services, FSU
  • Robert Heltzel, Chair, FSU Board of Visitors
  • Robert Kauffman, Director, Recreation and Parks Management, and Chair, Faculty Senate, FSU
  • Robert J. Larivee, Professor, Chemistry, FSU
  • Lawrence McKenzie, Chair, FSU Foundation Board
  • Richard W. Phoebus Sr., President and CEO, Hagerstown/Washington County Industrial Foundation
  • Mary Beth Pirolozzi, Executive Director, The United Ways of the Potomac Highlands; President, FSU Alumni Association
  • Richard Repac, Associate Vice President for Administration, FSU
  • Kim H. Rotruck, Assistant Professor of Education, FSU
  • Sheri Sensabaugh, President, ACT Personnel Services
  • Don Sincell, Editor and Publisher, The Republican
  • Sudhir Singh, Associate Professor of Marketing and Finance, FSU
  • Karen Soderberg Sarnaker, Professor of Music, FSU

Thomas B. Finan Jr., a member of the USM Board of Regents and an independent business consultant, is the search committee's liaison to the board. Anne Moultrie, USM associate vice chancellor for communications, is serving as the liaison to the Office of the Chancellor.

FSU President Catherine R. Gira in April announced her retirement effective June 30, 2006. Under her leadership since September 1, 1991, Frostburg State University has advanced significantly. Expanded academic offerings and campus facilities, as well as a larger and more diverse student body, all will be part of President Gira's legacy. The institution also is a vital partner in community service and economic development.

Situated in the mountains of Allegany County, Frostburg State University serves as an educational and cultural center for the Western Maryland region. Strong programs in liberal arts and sciences, business, education and environmental studies draw students from around the world at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. A low student-faculty ratio permits close personal attention and a learner-centered environment.

To learn more about Frostburg State University, visit:

Contact: Anne Moultrie