Wilson H. Elkins Professorships Awarded for 2012-13

Adelphi, Md. (July 25, 2012) -- First established at the University of Maryland in 1978 and later extended to the newly created University System of Maryland (USM) in 1988, the Wilson H. Elkins Professorships support professors and researchers who demonstrate exemplary ability to inspire students and whose professional work and scholarly endeavors make a positive impact beyond the USM.

For the 2012-13 academic year, Elkins Professorships awards have been offered to faculty at Salisbury University, Coppin State University, and the University of Baltimore.

At Salisbury University (SU), Michael Lewis, professor of environmental studies and Jill Caviglia-Harris, professor of economics and environmental studies, have partnered to use their $80,000 Elkins award to expand the quality, effectiveness, and innovation of SU's Environmental Studies Program. Together, Lewis and Caviglia-Harris have spearheaded the program, bringing on distinguished faculty and cultivating global real-life experiences for students by preparing and encouraging their scholars to complete competitive internships.

At Coppin State University, Jamal Uddin is an assistant professor in the Department of Natural Science, where he teaches courses in chemistry, physical science, environment science, and nanotechnology. In 2009, Uddin founded the Coppin Nanotechnology Center. The center in 2010 discovered a simulated highly efficient solar energy source. Uddin received several awards for this innovation and research, including The Daily Record 2011 Innovator of the Year award and 2011 Best Scientist Award from the Bangladesh community in Pennsylvania. Uddin will use his $65,000 Elkins award to support the Coppin State University Science Technology Engineering and Mathematics Center, with a focus on designing and simulating photovoltaic cells (photons of light) to convert solar energy into electricity.

At the University of Baltimore (UB) School of Law, professor Michael Meyerson teaches contracts, constitutional law, and American legal history. Meyerson is also the co-founder and director of the Baltimore Scholars Program, an initiative that works with four historically black colleges in Maryland to prepare minority students for law school.  In addition to his outstanding contributions at UB, Meyerson has published four books. He will use his Elkins award to support and expand the Baltimore Scholars Program. The upcoming academic year marks the third occasion in which Meyerson has received an Elkins award.

The Elkins award nominees represent the USM's commitment to closing the achievement gap, increasing STEM initiatives, and ensuring environmental sustainability. Awarding of the Elkins professorship is a fitting way to perpetuate the name and honor the contributions of Wilson H, Elkins, a former Rhodes Scholar who led the University of Maryland, College Park to new levels of distinction, as its president from 1954 to 1978. More information about the Elkins Professorship, including ways individuals can support the professorship, is available from the USM Office of Academic Affairs.



Contact: Mike Lurie
Phone: 301.445.2719
Email: mlurie@usmd.edu