Chancellor Kirwan Appoints Coppin State University Presidential Search and Screening Committee

Adelphi, MD (Nov. 21, 2014)-William E. Kirwan, chancellor of the University System of Maryland (USM), today announced his appointment of the search and screening committee for the president of Coppin State University (CSU), one of the university system's 12 institutions.

Mortimer H. Neufville began a two-year term as CSU president in July 2013. Prior to that appointment, Neufville served as interim president for six months following Reginald Avery's resignation from the presidency. The goal is to have the new president named by July 1, 2015.

The chair of the search and screening committee is Michael E. Cryor, president of The Cryor Group, a strategic communications firm in Baltimore.  

The other members of the committee, which includes representatives from Coppin's faculty, staff, students, and alumni, and from the greater community, are:

  • Emmanuel Anoruo, professor and chair of the CSU Department of Accounting and Management Information Systems
  • Christopher Brittan-Powell, professor in the CSU College of Behavioral and Social Sciences and member of the CSU Faculty Senate
  • Nicole Barmore, Esq., an attorney with Baltimore City's State's Attorney Office and CSU alumna
  • Thelma Daley, counselor-educator and organization consultant
  • Nayo Carter Gray, board member of the CSU Alumni Association
  • Rodrick Johnson, president of the CSU Student Government Association
  • Sherrye Larkins, chair of the CSU Staff Senate
  • Marjorie Miles, chair of the CSU Department of Teaching and Learning, School of Education
  • Crystal Mosley, CSU controller
  • Neil Muldrow, adviser to the CSU College of Business
  • Nayna Philipsen, chair of the CSU Faculty Senate and professor in the CSU College of Health Professions
  • The Honorable Catherine Pugh, Maryland State Senator
  • Alicia Ritchie, Esq., member of the CSU Foundation Board and CSU alumna.

USM Regents Barry Gossett and Frank Reid are serving as the liaisons to the Board of Regents. John Wolfe, a USM associate vice chancellor for academic affairs, is serving as the liaison to the chancellor.

The committee's work will conclude with its recommendation of finalists for consideration by the chancellor and the Board of Regents. The board will make the final selection.

For more information about Coppin State University, visit:

Contact: Anne Moultrie
Phone: 301.445.2722