2015-16 Wilson H. Elkins Professorships to Support Research in STEM Disciplines, Business Data, and African American Studies

Adelphi, Md. (Aug. 14, 2015) -- The 2015-16 University System of Maryland (USM) Wilson H. Elkins Professorships have been awarded to faculty members at four USM institutions, in disciplines spanning organic chemistry, business data analytics, African American studies, and teaching in the STEM (science, technology, engineering, mathematics) disciplines.

The Elkins Professorships support professors and researchers who demonstrate exemplary ability to inspire students and whose professional work and scholarly endeavors make a positive impact at their institutions, across the USM, and beyond.

Candidates for the Elkins Professorship must possess a solid record of achievement in their academic or professional disciplines; demonstrate a desire and ability to lead and inspire undergraduate and graduate students; show significant achievement beyond their traditional disciplines; and demonstrate ability and intent to pursue scholarly or professional endeavors beyond USM.

This year's award winners are, by institution/professor:

Coppin State University-to support the work of Hany F. Sobhi, associate professor of organic chemistry at Coppin State University. Dr. Sobhi continues to make significant contributions to his field by developing new biomarkers for the diagnoses of specific inherited metabolic diseases and thoroughly engaging undergraduate students in related applied research projects. ($80,000)

Bowie State University-to support the work of George Ude, professor in the Department of Natural Sciences, as he continues and enhances his dedication to STEM teaching, research, and service and for his significant incorporation of students in those experiences. The knowledge and skills gained from his work have the potential to have a long-standing impact on the university and the USM. ($13,401)

University of Baltimore-to support the work of Jaya Singhal, Baker Professor of Business Analytics in the Merrick School of Business. Dr. Singhal's award will position her to extend beyond her academic discipline of business analytics and study trade-and-innovation dynamics. She will investigate the impact of innovation on changing levels of trade benefits and pursue innovations in curriculum development and teaching at the undergraduate and graduate levels. ($38,000)

University of Maryland, College Park-to support the recruitment of Oscar A. Barbarin, a celebrated authority in multiple social sciences disciplines, to be the new chair of the Department of African American Studies. He has contributed to the social sciences during the course of 41 years. The award recognizes his great promise for continuing the tradition of excellence at the University of Maryland, College Park and across the USM. ($40,000)    

The Wilson H. Elkins Professorship honors the late Wilson H. Elkins, who led the University of Maryland flagship campus to new levels of distinction as its president from 1954 to 1978. The Wilson H. Elkins Endowment Fund supports the professorship awards in combination with institutional and system resources. This endowment and others like it further USM's mission of teaching, research, and public service.

For more information, visit the Wilson H. Elkins Professorship web page.

Contact: Mike Lurie
Phone: 301.445.2719
Email: mlurie@usmd.edu