USM Chancellor Perman Appoints Presidential Search Committee for University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC)

Baltimore, MD (Oct. 14, 2021) – Jay A. Perman, chancellor of the University System of Maryland (USM), has appointed—and the USM Board of Regents has approved—the search and screening committee for the new president of the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC).   Current UMBC President Freeman Hrabowski will continue to lead the university through his retirement date of June 30, 2022.

In beginning the search for Hrabowski’s replacement, the Board of Regents has committed itself to finding a successor who will continue UMBC’s impressive strength in education and research, its commitment to access and affordability, its embrace of community service, and its leadership in diversity, equity, and inclusion.

USM Regent Michelle Gourdine will chair the UMBC Presidential Search and Screening Committee, which has been chosen to reflect the UMBC community with representation among students, faculty, staff, alumni, and other institutional stakeholders. The committee’s work will result in the submission of a short list of the most-qualified presidential candidates for the Board of Regents to consider.

“I’m grateful to Dr. Gourdine and all the search committee members who’ve signed on to this work, understanding what lies in the balance,” said Chancellor Perman. “Hiring exceptional presidents for our exceptional universities is one of the most important things our regents do. We know UMBC was transformed under Dr. Hrabowski, establishing itself as a leader in teaching, research, and equity—in student achievement and community engagement. So we know we need a president who can harness the scholarly firepower of UMBC’s people, who can harness untapped potential, to keep that national—and international—prominence rising.”

The members of the committee are:

Michelle Gourdine, Search Committee Chair—Regent, University System of Maryland
Brian Barrio—Director of Athletics
Lee Blaney—Associate Professor, Chemical, Biochemical, and Environmental Engineering
Belay DemozDirector, Joint Center for Earth Systems Technology
Kathy Dettloff—Associate Vice President, Administration and Finance
Mehrshad Fahim Devin ’21—President, Student Government Association
Ellen Fish—Regent, University System of Maryland
Patricia Florestano—Former USM regent and Former Secretary Maryland Higher Education Commission
Brian Frazee ’11, ’12—President, Alumni Association Board, Vice President, Government Affairs for the Maryland Hospital Association
Beatriz Gutierrez-Malagon Co-Secretary, Professional Staff Senate, Coordinator for Leadership, Campus Life
Preminda Jacob—Associate Dean, College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences
William LaCourse—Dean, College of Natural and Mathematical Sciences
Carole McCann—Professor and Chair, Gender, Women’s, and Sexuality Studies
Yvette Mozie-Ross ’88—Vice Provost, Office of Enrollment Management and Planning
Sarah Shin—Associate Provost, Office of Academic Affairs
Orianne Smith—President, Faculty Senate, Associate Professor, English
Joel Tyson ’18—President, Graduate Student Association
Shelly Wiechelt—Associate Dean and Chair, Department of Social Work
Melody Wright, ’21—President, Nonexempt Staff Senate, Academic Business Services Specialist, Biological Sciences

The committee will work with the national leadership recruiting firm Isaacson, Miller, and is being staffed by USM Vice Chancellor for Communications and Marketing Tim McDonough.

The committee's work will conclude with its recommendation of finalists for consideration by the chancellor and the Board of Regents. The board will make the final selection. Historically, the search process for a president at most USM institutions has taken four to six months.

In the meantime, community members may use this link to nominate an outstanding individual to be considered as UMBC’s next leader, as well as take a short survey to provide input on what they believe should be the leadership qualities and priorities of the incoming president.


Contact: Mike Lurie
Phone: 301.445.2719