Chancellor Kirwan Appoints UMCP President Search Committee

Adelphi, MD (February 28, 2010) -- William E. Kirwan, chancellor of the University System of Maryland (USM), today announced the appointment of the search and screening committee for the president of the University of Maryland, College Park (UMCP). UMCP is one of the university system's 13 institutions.

"The University of Maryland, College Park is the state's flagship institution and the crown jewel of the University System of Maryland," said Chancellor Kirwan. "We are searching for a president who can build on the results of Dan Mote's leadership and continue the institution's march to the very top rank of the nation's research universities."

The chair of the search and screening committee is Donald F. Kettl, professor and dean of the university's School of Public Policy.

The other members of the committee are:

Ritu Agarwal
Professor, Decision, Operations and Information Technologies
Robert H. Smith School of Business

Stuart S. Antman
Distinguished University Professor and Associate Chair
Department of Mathematics

Anna L. Bedford
Ph.D. Student studying Comparative Literature

Philip R. DeShong
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Susan S. Farr
Executive Director
Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center

Sharon LaVonne Fries-Britt
Associate Professor
Department of Education Leadership, Higher Education and International Education

The Honorable Joseph B. Gildenhorn
Founding Partner, The JBG Companies
Chair, University of Maryland College Park Foundation Board of Trustees

Barry P. Gossett (also a member of the USM Board of Regents)
CEO, Acton Mobile Industries
University System of Maryland Foundation

Warren L. Kelley
Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs

Arie W. Kruglanski
Distinguished University Professor
Department of Psychology

Elise Miller-Hooks
Chair, University Senate
Associate Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Danita R. Nias
Assistant Vice President of Alumni Relations and Development

Carla L. Peterson
Professor, Department of English

Marvin H. Rabovsky
President, Alliant Companies
Past President, University of Maryland Alumni Association, Inc.

Harvey L. Sanders
Chair, Executive Committee
University of Maryland College Park Foundation Board of Trustees

Natalie M. Torres
Business Services Specialist
University Human Resources

Cheng-i Wei
Professor and Dean
College of Agriculture and Natural Resources

Kaiyi Xie
Undergraduate Student majoring in Bioengineering and Mathematics

Patricia S. Florestano, chair of the USM Board of Regents Committee on Education Policy, is the search committee  liaison to the board. Katie Ryan, senior adviser to the chancellor, is the committee liaison to the Office of the Chancellor. Staff to the committee is Sapienza Barone, assistant to the current UMCP president.

The work of the search and screening committee will conclude with its recommendation of finalists for consideration by Chancellor Kirwan and the USM Board of Regents. The board will make the final selection.

C. D. (Dan) Mote Jr. announced earlier this month that he will retire as president on August 31, 2010. At that time, he will have led the university for 12 years. After a leave of absence, Mote will continue at the university in his academic appointment as Glenn L. Martin Institute Professor of Engineering the A. James Clark School of Engineering.

As a center of academic excellence and a major public research university, UMCP enrolls more than 37,000 undergraduate and graduate students and attracted $518 million in research funding in fiscal year 2009. The university has earned top national and international rankings. For example, U.S. News & World Report ranks the institution #18 among the nation  best public universities and Kiplinger  Personal Finance ranks it #8 among the 100 Best Values in Public Colleges. 

For more information about the University of Maryland, College Park, visit:

Contact: Anne Moultrie
Phone: 301.445.2722