Chancellor Kirwan Appoints Towson University President Search and Screening Committee

Adelphi, MD (February 18, 2011) -- William E. Kirwan, chancellor of the University System of Maryland (USM), today announced the appointment of the search and screening committee for the president of Towson University, one of the university system's 12 institutions.

Robert Caret, president of Towson University for seven years, announced earlier this month that he is leaving the university to become president of the University of Massachusetts System. The new appointment is effective July 1.

The chair of the search and screening committee is Louise Michaux Gonzales of the Hylton and Gonzales Law Firm. She also is a member of the University System of Maryland Board of Regents.

The other members of the committee are:

Tommy Appel-Schumacher

Vice President, Graduate Student Association

Graduate student majoring in business administration


Jennifer Ballengee

President, Towson University Chapter of the American Association of University Professors

Associate Professor, Department of English


Lou Dollenger

Chairperson, Towson University Alumni Board

Vice President Sales and Engineering, Nelson White System


Diana Emanuel

Audiology Graduate Program Director

Audiology, Speech-Language Pathology and Deaf Studies


Angela Hong

Vice President, Student Government Association

Undergraduate student majoring in philosophy


Catherine Horta-Hayden

Associate Professor, Department of Dance


Katherine Kazinski

Vice Chairperson, Towson University Staff Council

Library Technology Coordinator


 Jung-Sook Lee

Associate Professor/Unit Coordinator, Department of Mass Communication and Communication Studies


David Nevins

Former USM Board of Regents Member

Founder, Nevins and Associates


Molly Shock

Chairperson, Towson University Foundation Board

Member of Towson University Board of Visitors


Lisa Smith

Administrative Assistant to the Assistant Vice President/Director of Undergraduate Admissions


Ellen Stokes

Associate Vice President, University Marketing


Timothy Sullivan

Chairperson, Towson University Senate

Associate Professor, Department of Economics


David A. Vanko

Dean, Science and Mathematics

The Jess and Mildred Fisher College of Science and Mathematics


Ocie Watson-Thompson

Associate Professor/Chairperson, Department of Early Childhood Education


Donn Worgs

Associate Professor, Department of Political Science

Director, Metropolitan Studies Program


Liaison to the USM Board of Regents

Regent Gary L. Attman

President of FutureCare Health and Management Corporation


Liaison to the Office of the USM Chancellor

Katie Ryan

Senior Advisor to Chancellor Kirwan


Staff to the Committee

Cassy Bennett

Office of the Towson University President

Kirwan anticipates that the search process will be completed within six months. The committee's work will conclude with its recommendation of finalists for consideration by the chancellor and the USM Board of Regents. The board will make the final selection.

Under Caret's leadership, Towson has earned recognition as one of the nation's best public regional universities. With more than 21,000 students, the university is one of the largest universities in Maryland. It offers more than 100 bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degree programs in the liberal arts and sciences, and applied professional fields. As a metropolitan university, it combines research-based learning with practical application.

"I want to again thank Dr. Caret for his outstanding leadership of Towson over the past seven years," said Chancellor Kirwan. "His departure is a huge loss for our university system and for our state. He leaves an exceptional institution poised to rise to even greater heights of excellence."

Once Caret announces his departure date, Kirwan will announce the appointment of an interim president.

For more information about Towson University, visit:

Contact: Anne Moultrie
Phone: 301.445.2722


Contact: Anne Moultrie
Phone: 301.445.2722