Council of University System Faculty


Executive Committee: Martha Siegel (Chair); Lee Richardson (Past Chair); Bill Chapin (Vice Chair); John Collins (Secretary); Vincent Brannigan and John McMullen (At Large).

Standing Committees:

Membership and Rules: Bill Chapin (Chair), Alcott Arthur, John Collins.  Agenda: conduct elections, verify membership, advise web site administrator, act as a committee on committees.

Faculty Affairs: David Parker (Chair), Steve Jacobs, Rosemary Jagus, John Gustafson, Joan Langdon, Emmanuel Onyeozili, Doug Pryor, Deloris JamesAgenda: workload questions; tenure; quality of life questions; status of shared governance on the various campuses; graduate vs. undergraduate teaching; adjunct and part-time faculty issues; systems appeals.

Academic Affairs: John McMullen and Bill Stuart (Co-Chairs), Denny Gulick, Joyce Shirazi.  Agenda: curriculum; interaction with Provosts and BoR Ed Policy Committee; missions of institutions; K-16.

Administrative and Fiscal Affairs: Dennis Coates and Frank Alt (Co-Chairs), Rahim Ashkeboussi, Mike Garner, Adelaide Lagnese, Elizabeth Mulroy.  Agenda: questions of salary levels; the nature of peers; benefits; campus budgetary processes and their transparency.

Legislative Affairs: Stephanie Gibson (Chair), Vince Brannigan, Lee Richardson.  Agenda: work toward legislative testimony; monitor legislative docket.

Ad hoc Committees and subcommittees:

Student Research Day (Subcommittee of Legislative Affairs):  Joyce Tenney (Chair), Rodger Harvey, Martha Siegel, Paul Thut.  Agenda: provide everything needed to continue this highly positive and successful venture.

Systems Appeals / Ombudsman: Members will be nominated by the Membership and Rules Committee. Agenda: create an ombudsman or ombuds-committee within CUSF in view of the lack of acceptance of systems appeals procedures suggested last year.

Regents Faculty Awards: Pat Alt (Chair), Court Stevenson, Joyce Tenney and two others. Agenda: Urge campus administrators and Faculty Senates to submit nominations, evaluate the nominees and make recommendations for awards.

K-16 (Subcommittee of Academic Affairs): Kim Rotruck (Chair), Bill Stuart (CUSF representative to K-16 Working Group), Joan Langdon, Joyce Currie Little, Deloris JamesAgenda: Deal with the statewide plan for higher education; quality control; work with the community colleges; get dollars to improve teacher preparation; quality control for college-level courses taught in high school.

Chairpersons Workshop: (Subcommittee of Faculty Affairs): Marci McClive (Chair), Martha Siegel, Deloris James.  Agenda: Facilitate CUSF interaction with the New Chairs Meeting of January 20, 2005 (the same day as the January CUSF meeting).

Unassigned CUSF delegates: Marymal Holmes (BSU); Lori Harris (CSU); Paul Flexner (SU); A. Delores James (UMUC).