USM is 25 Years Old


 Happy 25th Anniversary USM!

   Celebration details coming soon


Adelphi, MD (July 1, 2013)-Today marks the University System of Maryland's (USM's) 25th anniversary. With the beginning of the new academic year in late August, the USM community will launch a celebration of USM's 25 years of impact on many areas, including access to education, research, economic and workforce development, and public service. We'll look back on all we've accomplished together and look ahead to our bright future.

State legislation launched the system, originally named the University of Maryland System, on July 1, 1988, by merging the five campuses of the University of Maryland (UM) with the six campuses of the State University and College System. The five UM campuses were then called the University of Maryland at Baltimore, the University of Maryland Baltimore County, the University of Maryland College Park, the University of Maryland Eastern Shore, and the University of Maryland University College. The six campuses of the state college and university system were then called Bowie State University, Coppin State College, Frostburg State University, Salisbury State University, Towson State University, and the University of Baltimore.

Also included were the Center for Environmental and Estuarine Studies and the Maryland Biotechnology Institute (which no longer exists). The current names of the 12 USM institutions are listed below.*

William Donald Schaefer, then governor of Maryland, wrote this about the merger:  "On July 1, 1988, the State of Maryland took a giant step forward restructuring and strengthening our state's public higher education system. That day marked the birth of the University of Maryland System.

"Maryland is blessed with a rich variety of colleges and universities. The creation of the University of Maryland System brings together 11 public institutions to deliver efficiently the academic and research programs and the public services needed for the residents of the state." 

Since July 1, 1988, the University System of Maryland has advanced opportunities for individuals, communities, businesses, and organizations throughout Maryland and beyond. As we celebrate during the next several months, there will be information and stories to share, chances to win prizes, and opportunities to learn even more about the University System of Maryland. (Who was the founding chancellor of the system? Why and when was the name changed from the University of Maryland System to the University System of Maryland? How has the system grown in numbers and quality?)

The University System of Maryland thanks the following donors for their generous support of the 25th-anniversary celebration: Barry Gossett, vice chair of the University System of Maryland Board of Regents; Care First Blue Cross Blue Shield; The Classic Catering People; Delmarva Power; Micros Systems; PNC Foundation; University System of Maryland Foundation; and The Whiting-Turner Contracting Company.

Stay tuned for details on how we will mark this important milestone together!

 *(The current names of the 12 institutions comprising today's University System of Maryland are: Bowie State University; Coppin State University; Frostburg State University; Salisbury University; Towson University; University of Baltimore; University of Maryland, Baltimore; University of Maryland, Baltimore County; University of Maryland, College Park; University of Maryland Eastern Shore; University of Maryland University College; University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science. USM also has two regional higher education centers-Universities at Shady Grove and the University System of Maryland at Hagerstown.)

For more information:

Contact: Anne Moultrie
Phone: 301.445.2722