Office of the Chancellor

Telephone: 301.445.1901
Facsimile: 301.445.1931

3300 Metzerott Road
Adelphi, MD 20783-1690



All University System of Maryland Nonexempt Staff


Chancellor Donald N. Langenberg


April 30, 1999


Revisions to Nonexempt Salary Structure

I am pleased to announce that the Board of Regents (BOR) of the University System of Maryland (USM) has approved the revised Fiscal Year 2000 Nonexempt Salary Structure, effective July 1, 1999 (see salary structure).

This action results from the review and analysis of market data over the past several months, in order to maintain a competitive salary structure at the USM institutions. This effort is in keeping with our commitment to review the Nonexempt Pay Program every two years to keep pace with current conditions.

The Nonexempt Salary Structure has been modified to eliminate the formal salary steps and to replace them with ranges with established minimums and maximums. We have also shifted the pay ranges upwards so that, for the first time since the 1996 implementation, they now meet the market at the midpoint.

This revised structure provides a better means for the payment of the COLA to employees, which will be $638 on July 1, 1999 and $637 on January 1, 2000. Additionally, Nonexempt employees who are reclassified or promoted will continue to receive at least a 6% increase, in accordance with existing BOR policies.

A 2.5% merit increase has been included in our FY 2000 budget, and will continue to be awarded to those employees who "Meet Standards." Also, up to 2.5% may be awarded for outstanding performance based on performance reviews that are currently taking place at the institutions. These awards will take effect on July 1, 1999 and will be applied to the base salary.

These are significant improvements to the Nonexempt Salary Structure and we will continue to maintain a market based salary structure to attract and retain quality staff for the USM.

Thank you for your continued cooperation and contributions in making the USM a first rate university system.

cc: Members, Chancellor's Council